Relish List

6 Nov

I’m just going to attempt listing things that I used to hmm mmm relish:

  • Smoking [I can’t tell you all how proud I am to put this on the “used to” list]
  • Potato crisps [There was a time I was known as the chips-girl.  I was like the Mary with the little lamb but with the chips.  And then I don’t even remember how it happened but for the past few years, I’ve not had them.  Even Pringles doesn’t tempt me anymore.  No wonder some of my friends think I could be bipolar]

  • Desserts [My mom was diagnosed with Diabetes last year and so to be on the careful side, I have said good-bye to desserts.  Believe you me, saying no to desserts is often more difficult that many may think.  Unlike with smoking, people don’t “encourage” you much, there are hardly any support groups… and then there’s temptation everywhere, I mean EVERYWHERE.  Pheww! Oh by the way, by desserts I also meant candies, lollies, Hershey’s….]
  • Texting [I relished texting… I was never a phone person but texting, oh well I was meant to text.  So far, this too is in the past along with all the other apps that I enjoyed 😦 .  I do not own a mobile phone anymore and so with the new mobile-free version of myself, “texting” has officially made it into this “used to relish” list].
  • White Collar Work [I relished all that came with the corporate job.  I was a workaholic.  My weekend getaway was my OFFICE.  There were times during those times when the idea of not-working could have me HYPERVENTILATING.  Weird… I know… right!!!] 

 

A confession:  I love the number 5 [and prime numbers] and so whenever I make a list of things, you’ll mostly find them in 5’s.

via Daily Prompt: Relish

6 Responses to “Relish List”

  1. Harry Writes November 6, 2016 at 7:19 pm #

    Congratulations on the smoking, quite a few months ago myself. Going strong. Keep it up, I enjoyed your list.

    • s1ngal November 6, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

      Thanks. Oh yes, let’s keep it up!

  2. Covert Novelist November 7, 2016 at 3:08 am #

    Delightful. Well done indeed.congrats on the smoking or non as it were. Not easy to do but we’ll worth the effort.

  3. Dermott Hayes November 8, 2016 at 12:12 pm #

    No phone, now that’s interesting. Good for you. Cigarettes and Pringles can kill you. Desserts? that’s a tough one. I’ve been a diabetic 23 years and rarely eat desserts but every now and then I say, to hell with it, and have a tiramisu.

    • s1ngal November 8, 2016 at 2:55 pm #

      Beating smoking was quite inspiring. so every now and then I challenge myself to quit this thing and that. Only I can never say ‘to hell with it’ and have a tiramisu, I’ll be downing 4 😦

      • Dermott Hayes November 8, 2016 at 4:33 pm #

        But a phone? I lived half my life without mobile phones. I like the idea of not having one but how do you cope?

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

