Couch Potato or Adventurer

3 Nov

An adventurer at heart but a couch-potato in reality?

It isn’t that I haven’t given adventure a shot, I Sincerely have.

Sincere Attempt # 1

My friends and I were hiking one day, when a bee or whatever it was kept buzzing around my face.  I screamed, ran this way and that, swatting at it helplessly with my hands, shooing vehemently and in the end requesting it to leave me alone… and yet that bloody buzzing bee/ fly/ creature kept at me.  There were four of us and that buzzing creature had to come at me!!!

Sincere Attempt # 2

Adventurer that I was, I climbed this giant rock [Ive written about it here].  Climbing it was a piece of cake compared to coming downhill.  The rock was steep and hardly had any footholds.  The rock was slippery (why had I not seen it coming up!).  I couldn’t remember how I had climbed up so that I could at least retrace my steps back.  I couldn’t even how far below I had to go till I could safely jump-land.  And it was getting dark.  I took off my shoes, slung them around my shoulders, and then my tiny feet began feeling and finding the almost invisible footholds, footholds barely an inch wide.  That is all I remember.  To this day, I do not know how I made it back.  And so that was the first and the very final rock-climbing adventure.

Sincere Attempt # 3

It was another all-girls trek to the wild.  However this time, the wilderness was only a slight detour.  There were like parallel tracks – one that looked like a “rough terrain”, but a little higher we could hear cars and hop-on-hop-off buses wheezing by. A win-win.  The friends were super hesitant to leave the “safety” of the main road.  I convinced them that if the “trek to the wild” was a little too much, all we had to do was jump three steps and we’d be right back on the road.  They were convinced… Yaye!!  It was lovely walking in the bushes… oooh were we so adventurous!!  And then one friend spotted what looked like a snake.  We all froze.  There it was, creeping out of the hole.  It saw us and it stopped right there.  I saw it.  I did.  Two of the friends didn’t even dare look at it.

Now this was a small walking trail, three jumps to the right and we’d be on the road.  And this snake was right there, on the right.  There was no way going forward because it was a narrow trail… We couldn’t go back because now we all knew what could be waiting out there for us.  My friends shot daggers at me, and I know if it weren’t for that snake they might as well have put a dagger through me.  We were stuck.  We were all crying, hapless, helpless and hopeless.

Why, oh why, did I open my mouth?

Aeons later, we saw another human being walking towards us.  We cried for help.  We informed him about our predicament.  He was like where where… he took out his camera and began taking its picture… We were like “..er could you shield us from that monster while we pass?”  And so he did and that was the last time I ever strayed from the main road.

Sincere Attempt # 4

This was a fine trail, safe and easy.  My travel partner was a “pro” and she had all the gears for a safe hike.  No bushes.  No monsters.  Just a pair of good boots and strong legs.  We hiked for several hours and it was good, nothing untoward had happened and so I was growing comfortable… and maybe I was growing too comfortable too soon.  Our hotel was a kilometre ahead when I saw a sign that said “Lake – Detour 200 m from here”, and it pointed up.  My “pro” travel buddy passed this wonderful opportunity.  It was around 2 pm so I thought 200m up and 200m down… and I’d still make it to the hotel by 3.  Thus, we parted ways.

It was indeed a short walk uphill and I saw this beautiful lake.  It was the most beautiful blue I had ever seen.  I dipped my feet there for a while and it felt amazing.  No, I didn’t go skinny-dipping.  I took pictures and just relaxed by the lake-shore.  It was peaceful.  It was heaven.  I looked at my wristwatch, especially worn for adventures and an hour had passed in a jiffy.  Sigh.  And I began my way back.  After climbing down almost a kilometre, I couldn’t see my hotel.  I couldn’t even see the sign that was there.  Was I in some horror film?  Where was I?  Where was that sign?  Where was the track?  I had lost my way.

It was around 4 when I saw a dog.

Around 5, I saw a group of people and I asked them where they were headed.  They said someplace and the name didn’t ring a bell.  I gave them my most confident smile and asked them if I could join them.  And we all walked together.  Actually, I walked a few paces behind them.  I didn’t want them speaking to me.  After about half an hour, I saw the hotel where I was supposed to spend the night.  I ran.  I said goodbye to these people as I ran.  I ran past the gate.  There was a group of 4-5 men and then I saw my “pro” travel partner.  She was getting together a search-and-rescue team.

Sincere Attempt # 5

No details. I was chased by a cow while responding to a nature’s call in the wild.

______________________________________________________________

I wish I weren’t an adventurer at heart.  I am scared of the creepy crawlers and so I do not have any place in the wilderness.  I have zero sense of direction and so exploring is totally out of the question. 

And yet, here I am.  I did hike!  I did trek!  I did get lost!  I did get chased by some buzzing creature and even a cow!  I did climb a rock and I did climb it down!  I am meant to be a couch-potato but I did dare defy it!  I am not meant to be an adventurer but I did dare defy it, too!

So what am I – an adventurer or a couch-potato?  I rest my case.

via Daily Prompt: Sincere

6 Responses to “Couch Potato or Adventurer”

  1. Marie November 3, 2016 at 6:36 pm #

    Great read! I enjoyed your writing style. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • s1ngal November 3, 2016 at 6:51 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by! Thank you even more for the comment! ❤ ❤

      • Marie November 3, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

        You’re quite welcome. 🙂

  2. petrd1 November 3, 2016 at 9:15 pm #

    As they say: If at first you don’t sincere, sincere and sincere again

  3. artseafartsea November 3, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    Love your writing style!

    • s1ngal November 4, 2016 at 6:54 pm #

      Thank you, means a lot lot!!

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

