to Trust or to not Trust

16 Oct

I have been mugged twice in my entire life (so far), and apart from ‘being mugged’ being the common thing in both the cases, there’s one more.  A sort of super power!

Let me elaborate.  One night as I walking home from a friend’s place, this mugger (who must have been following the super-oblivious-super-self-centred me for a while) came up from behind and snatched my handbag and ran in this street with hundred alleys.  I was so dumbstruck that I couldn’t even call out for help or anything.  I stood there and in a weird way felt relieved.  Why?

While at my friend’s place, I felt some kind of tugging sensation in my heart.  I joked around saying I am getting a stroke.  Somebody said it might be a panic attack.  The whole evening felt heavy and something was indeed bugging me.  On my way back and up until the moment when I saw my handbag disappear with the mugger, I had been feeling the heaviness.  Bag gone, so was the heaviness.  However, I am not trying to say the “bag” was heavy, if you know what I mean.

It was then that I decided to Trust my super power/ fear/ instinct/ panic attack/ premonition.

Second incident.  All morning I felt weird and immediately I knew I had to be careful.  There was the heaviness again.  So, I trusted my “weird feeling for nothing” feeling and I took every measure I possibly could to be safe.  No late night.  No carrying lots of cash.  No carrying credit card.  I was careful and cautious for most part of the day.  I cancelled an evening out with friends so that I could be home before dark.  Once home, I saw that my mobile was missing from my backpack.  I tried calling my mobile – it rang but no one answered.  I called again – the mobile was switched off.

However, I must add that I do get this “weird feeling for nothing” feeling quite often and I have realised some of the times it’s pure lethargy trying to be irrationally rational.

via Daily Prompt: Trust

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

I Will Fight Site

I will fight for the word of God to be heard

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

