noThink

30 Jul

Ok, if you thought the title is misspelled, it’s actually not.  You’ll know sooner than later. Right here as part of the Daily Prompt and here’s what it’s prompted–>

Daily Prompt: Drawing a Blank

by michelle w. on July 30, 2013

When was the last time your walked away from a discussion, only to think of The Perfect Comeback hours later? Recreate the scene for us, and use your winning line.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HEATED.

Indeed, there have been many many I mean many times where I’ve walked away from a discussion, only to think of the Perfect Comeback hooooouuuuurs [you know what I mean] later.

Now, this is the thing. During an argument [read discussion] my mouth opens and my tongue starts clicking and my lips open and close forming different shapes, the actions of them all make me look and sound like I’m arguing but maybe I’m not. The sounds come out and although I know it’s my voice, I do not understand a word. Why? Well, because there’s that no-think blank that I’ve drawn all around/ within the argument.

And then again, I’ve got an opportunity to rant about drawing a blank during the last discussion, thanks to the Daily Prompt. Wow!!! Perfect, right?!? WRONG!!!! I’ve drawn a blank [yet again]. I know I’ve had arguments [a whole lot of them] the last time around when I was forced to walk away flustered and fuming. Those were the nights when I had to console myself with “action speaks louder than WORDS. So what if that argumentor [if there be a word] cornered you with nothing to say, you DID walk out. You let that smartypants know [through your action] that you disagreed by walking out. Good on you and now pat yourself on the back.”

Those were also the nights I had answers for everything. I knew how to throw them off guard with my “perfect comeback” and I could see their faces flushed [down the toilet is all I would care]. I’d sleep happier with a hope that there would be a next time with the same discussion and I’d get back at them – with a vengeance. But, the chances of having the same discussion can be compared to lightning being struck the same place twice.

I’m not embarrassed to admit that I’m having the same problem now. I know that once this baton of opportunity has been passed to another prompt [tomorrow], I shalt be overwhelmed with how I could have shown you HEATED. I know I’ll have heaps of “perfect comeback blogs” with the perfect recreation of the scene and a whole lot of winning lines…. But, alas! That’s not going to happen now.

Let’s see if this can serve as the winning line for now:

I don’t have a forethought nor an afterthought and ridiculously I don’t even have any thoughts in between. 

11 Responses to “noThink”

  1. NicoLite Великий July 31, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    You should get into the security business, you’ll have plenty of opportunities to practice on repetitive conversations. Not so much with your colleagues, but very much with both the subjects you protect and the ones you protect them from…

    • s1ngal July 31, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

      errrrrrr… but I don’t have facial hair :wink wink:

      • NicoLite Великий July 31, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

        I’m reading about your previous efforts to become a boy, right now… see where I’m going?

      • s1ngal July 31, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

        you’re going retro, if I’m not wrong… but alas! that was then and this is now… i still don’t have facial hair 😥

      • NicoLite Великий July 31, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

        you got that comeback pretty good 🙂

      • s1ngal July 31, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

        I had to…. there was no way I was going to get that beard so I wore my hair long instead :wink wink:

      • NicoLite Великий July 31, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

        Oh my, the long hair. Have I told you about how I had to cut my hair?

      • s1ngal July 31, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

        If I say NO, will you tell me about how you had to cut your hair..?

      • NicoLite Великий July 31, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

        later, need to get some shuteye before shift 2morrow 😉

      • s1ngal July 31, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

        g’nyt!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Drawing a Blank | flow of my soul - July 30, 2013

    […] noThink | s1ngal […]

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

I Will Fight Site

I will fight for the word of God to be heard

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

