Worse than hitting ROCK Bottom

31 Mar

When one’s hit the rock bottom and is condemned for all eternity to be stuck in the abysmal rock bottom and the only silver lining one sees is the crevice that one cannot reach… and then one may think, “Things cannot get worse than this…” and one sighs and adds “…nada… no way… there can be nothing worse than this…”.

Hitting rock bottom [aka s1ngal's attempt at sculpting]

Hitting rock bottom [aka s1ngal’s attempt at sculpting]

Inevitably, things worse than the worst that then happen to one is that one adapts to living there. One makes a home right there – carving and etching one’s way through the rock. No sooner has one begun the adventure, one sees oneself enjoying that s***hole. One befriends the carvings and carves out a statuette and now one’s a sculptor.

One’s become a sculptor who can sculpt with one’s bare hands [fingers and nails] and now one looks at one’s dexterity and knows one deserves a pat in one’s back. Sadly though, one, being on one’s own, has no one to share one’s feat with. Who knew… One’s could become a sculptor!!!

But….errrr…. hang on a minute!!! Wasn’t the only thing one wanted to do was to get outta there? What happened then??

  1. For the first question, the answer is – Yes, one always ever wanted was to get out of there.
  2. For the second question, the answer is – Then… well worse than hitting rock bottom happened.

Now, learn from the Great Ms. Rowling

Seven years after graduating from university, Rowling saw herself as “the biggest failure I knew.”  Her marriage had failed, she was jobless with a dependent child, but she described her failure as liberating:

Failure meant a stripping away of the inessential. I stopped pretending to myself that I was anything other than what I was, and began to direct all my energy to finishing the only work that mattered to me. Had I really succeeded at anything else, I might never have found the determination to succeed in the one area where I truly belonged. I was set free, because my greatest fear had been realized, and I was still alive, and I still had a daughter whom I adored, and I had an old typewriter, and a big idea. And so rock bottom became a solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.

– J. K. Rowling, “The fringe benefits of failure”, 2008.

To hell with “When life gives you a lemon, make a lemonade”.

I say I DO NOT WANT LEMONADE. I say I DO NOT WANT TO BE A SCULPTOR. Now when one thought things couldn’t get worse, it just did. Adapting yourself to your misery is actually worse than the misery itself.

 Had I really succeeded at anything else, I might never have found the determination to succeed in the one area where I truly belonged.

Bottom line [from my rock bottom] being I do not want to succeed in sculpting.  I may have been busy enjoying sculpting at the rocks with my bare hands but at the end of the day I’m just making a lemonade that I DO NOT WANT. Making lemonade isn’t the one area where I truly belong.

Ergo, a new quote [from the ever aspiring writer, never one]

When life gives you a lemon, WRITE ABOUT IT… duh!?!

 

10 Responses to “Worse than hitting ROCK Bottom”

  1. the_lunatic March 31, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    I’ll build you a lemonade stand right away, miss thang & we shall make lemonade together.

    • the_lunatic March 31, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      Yes, I know you said you didn’t want any … but still, we could make some money from it… 😉

      • s1ngal March 31, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

        Lemon…Money… lemoney… now that’s some plan 😀

  2. NicoLite Великий March 31, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    I say: When life gives you a lemon, ask for a lime 😉 maybe you’ll get a melon

    • s1ngal March 31, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      Aye don’ wan’ no steenkeen lemon [courtesy: Alastair]

  3. Alastair March 31, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    When life gives you a lemon … throw it back and say “Aye don’ wan’ no steenkeen lemon”

  4. Mustang.Koji June 10, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    Where have you been, s1ngal?

    • s1ngal July 29, 2013 at 8:00 am #

      sry, as always replying awfully late… i was down under. i’ve decided to resurface up above now. let’s see how long that lasts.

      but thank you Koji san.

      • Mustang.Koji July 29, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

        Great to know you surfaced! LOL 🙂

        Have a BRIGHT and sunny day!

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Determined Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

