When…

22 Nov

Where I live at the moment is -this- close to heaven. I live by a beautiful lake that changes colour every minute. Early morning [if I make it], the lake is silver and still. The mist rises so beautifully that I need to remind myself to breathe in and breathe out.

silver!!

As the sun comes out of its hiding, I know it from the gold in the lake. Yes, the silver turns to gold and when I turn back, I can see the meek sun rising to its glory. It looks like a magical carpet… It looks like nature has drawn a golden carpet for me to paint the town red.

the gold!!!

When the sun is straight up above the lake, it’s too bright to look at. All that glitters isn’t gold and I know it. I can barely see through the glitter… no matter how weak the sun, the glitter’s blinding, still. The golden ripples shine through mocking my eyesight.

all that glitters…. is the LAKE

As the evening falls, the glitter changes into grey or sometimes light blue. Very often, with the sunset, the lake becomes orange or pink as well. I cannot believe how wonderful one object can be and how I can’t stop admiring every day.

PINK!!

And above it all, it’s the sound of silence that just takes my breath away. I just realised today that I haven’t listened to my iPod and couldn’t remember when was the last time I listened to man-made music. 😀 The sound of nature – if I listen closely, I can hear the ripples. Then there are birds – I don’t know the species but they just give me company – I mean their chirps. They are mostly out of sight but they do make their presence felt. Then there are fish – I can hear them, sometime, plopping. Not to forget, there are canoes and kayaks and the rowing makes another pleasant music.

some bird!!

I had forgotten all of this till a passerby came and mentioned how lucky I am to be living here. She was right. When did I stop seeing all this? Little hitches in life has turned me blind to the actual beauty that I can be a witness to everyday. Instead of feeling blessed where I am, I keep complaining of where I am not. I am and always have been ambitious to be content with what or where I am. However, contentment is one thing and counting my blessing is completely another.

sky in the Lake!!

Hence, I am going to appreciate this place as long as I stay here. What happens to my life – problems, hitches, setbacks, disappointment – always happen but I’ll never let it come between me and where I am. Strange how we lose sight of the obvious!!! Once in a while a passerby’s simple comment does open our eyes to make us see things right in front of our eyes.

And so, lest I forget, I dedicate this post to where I am at the moment – so close to heaven, so close to my heart. Ever thankful 🙂

8 Responses to “When…”

  1. Life&Ink November 22, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    As a lake liver myself I know that of which you speak. Have you also noticed, when in tune with the sun and the lake how you can tell time only by the light and the water’s movement? I simply love when I can live without man made time telling devices. Great post. Thanks!

    • s1ngal November 22, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      Thank YOU… And yes, aren’t we fortunate!!!

  2. adriancharliehoran November 22, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    We’re surrounded by such beautiful imagery created through nature, it’s a shame we don’t appreciate it enough! Great post 🙂

    • s1ngal November 22, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

      Thank you and I couldn’t agree more!

  3. eof737 November 23, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    What a beautiful piece and the pictures are stunning too! 😉
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Thanksgiving weekend to you! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

    • s1ngal November 23, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Thank you. and thank you again. Happy Thanksgiving weekend to you too!!!

  4. NicoLite Великий November 23, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I feel the same about the forest near my parents’ place. Since we moved there over 20 years ago, the woods have gone from commercial spruce woods to a more natural mix of spruce, fir, beech, maple and birch, and the wildlife has changed accordingly. It’ll take a few hunred years until the majestic german oak is evident in the mix, but it’s good to know that it will happen

    • s1ngal November 23, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      sounds really good! to nature…

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

