And so…

19 Nov

Yesterday, I saw this guy and flipped out. He reminded me of a guy I used to know. He looked like a deteriorated aged version of the guy I used to know. Now the shock came a little later when I realised he wasn’t a deteriorated aged look-alike, it was him. There couldn’t be another human being who could speak the way he did [the way he was]. A little later I heard another guy call his name – confirmed.

I buried my face in a book and prayed and prayed for him to leave. I don’t know [now] why I was hiding…

  • Maybe just the way I was shocked seeing the uglier version of him, he would have been too. But I haven’t become ugly, have I?
  • We weren’t friends but we did have common friends. He was fun but it’s been almost 3 years and he looks horrible. He used to be hot. Was I saving him the embarrassment?
  • Back in the days, I was proud to know this guy. He was hawt, he was in this local band and he was the drummer… He had this shoulder-length curly drummer-hair. Some days when his band was doing a gig, I used to make a point to see them play and he used to acknowledge me. He even used to come say hello when the band took a break. Wow! I was the envy for a while. Was I embarrassed that I was proud to have known this him?
  • Now, his hair’s cropped short. I even saw a pot belly-in-progress. Eww. Was I saving myself from embarrassment?

Lesson learned: I’m not going to take my life for granted, no matter what. I am going to look after myself, I am going to quit smoking starting NOW. I am going to eat healthy stuff. I am going to have lots of fruits and veggies. I am going to work out. I am going to see my optician. I am going to see my dentist. I am going to my GP. I am going to use anti-aging lotions. I am going to drink my green-tea regularly. I am going to get a hair-cut. I am going to make sure no one hides their face behind a book 10 years later.

The above lesson is more or less for the outside. Inside, I am a bad person so I’m going to try to be a better one. I shalt never ever do what I did yesterday. 

9 Responses to “And so…”

  1. Mustang.Koji November 19, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    The only pot belly bigger than mine is the original Franklin stove… I helped Ben design it. 😉 Pace yourself on your goals!

  2. NicoLite Великий November 20, 2012 at 3:31 am #

    Ain’t I glad that my looks get better as I grow older

    • s1ngal November 20, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      me too 😉 We’ve gotta be like wines… the older we get, the better eh?!?

      • NicoLite Великий November 20, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

        I prefer whiskey 😉 I get heartburn from wine, but yeah, you got the idea 🙂

  3. eof737 November 25, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I hope you kept your word… I did see an ex in the supermarket once and he looked so … different! 😆

    • s1ngal November 25, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

      Some veggies are rotting in my refrigerator 😉 See I’m definitely trying… well at least I bought some veggies this time, next time I might be eating them 😀

      • eof737 November 25, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

        😆 Right!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 1 | s1ngal - November 26, 2012

    […] all in a morning’s work. Phew!!! And so begins my promise to take better care of myself… It’s just begun and my heart’s […]

  2. day TWO | s1ngal - November 27, 2012

    […] Well, here’s how I’ve been doing so far with my resolve I had made here. […]

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

