the “They”

9 Nov

I’m living a single life – not always happy, not always sad either. It’s just living with the ups and downs through thick and thin by myself. If a beautiful girl, as I, wants to stay single – What’s their problem?

Everyone suddenly becomes more insightful than me, more knowledgeable. I let people be people. I’ve never imposed single-hood on every soul I see, NO NEVER. So what gives these no-longer-single the right to impose their couple-hood on me? Have I ever asked any of these “married”/ “in a serious relationship” people to become single like me?

oooooh yeah!!!

First case:

A middle-age colleague says that I must – mind you, MUST – get married. It’s the way of life.

I say, “Why”

He say, “Because you need company. You can’t live on your own. Now you can, because you’re fit and capable. What about later, old-age?”

I say, “I’ll deal with it when it comes. I can’t stop living knowing that I’ll die some day. Would you?”

He say, “But this is different. How can you choose to stay single? Do you know how difficult it is to live single?” [fyi, he’s been a widower for a few years now]

I say, “Look at you. You married but look at YOU, LOOK at YOURSELF, you ARE single…” I hated myself the moment these words came out.

He say, nothing.

Second case:

A thirty-something colleague says that I shouldn’t choose to live like this.

He says, “You can’t choose to live a single life… What kind of life is that?”

I says, “My kind of life…”

He says, “You’re healthy, capable….. now but what about later?”

I says, “I’ll be unhealthy, incapable…. later”

He says, “You’ve got to have some plan…. You’ll suffer later.”

I wanted to says, “Won’t you?” But I says, “I have plans… just that my plans don’t involve getting married.” I smiles. He no smiles.

What was the Second-case guy thinking? I mean, WHO doesn’t have a plan? We all have plans, don’t we? I have plans too – I’m not quite sure what they are now but I’m quite sure it can wait and it’s there – somewhere. Besides, many things I had planned earlier didn’t quite turn out the way I wanted them to. Some of them were a disaster, some still are.

Also, both men mentioned that I’m healthy and capable [I’d like to take this opportunity to consider the comments a compliment. Sigh, it’s so rare, sigh again]. So, do they want me to be with someone in case I become unhealthy and incapable? Is that why they could have married? To make sure someone’s out there for them during their unhealthy and incapable times? Could that be their plan? So much for romance. Well, here’s the news – THEIR PLANS SUCK.

My plan rocks – “plan when a plan needs to be planned. If not, plan no plans. Single living HIGH thinking [aka living single and thinking about getting high] – There, I have a plan or rather I have Plan A. I’m high 😀

 

9 Responses to “the “They””

  1. JackieP November 9, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    marriage is not always what it is cracked up to be. Stay however makes YOU happy.

    • s1ngal November 10, 2012 at 12:37 am #

      thank you very much. appreciate your support. I think I need to start a support group or something 😉

      • JackieP November 10, 2012 at 10:04 am #

        sounds good 🙂

  2. Mustang.Koji November 9, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    I wish YOU would have convinced me to stay single. 😉

    • s1ngal November 10, 2012 at 1:23 am #

      it’s just “live and let live” kind of thing I’m into 😀 So yea, I wish I’d have convinced you and a lot many sufferers to stay single hehehheh 😀

  3. NicoLite Великий November 10, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    %&$! those negative nancies. My great-aunt is near 90, was never married, and she’s doing alright for herself. Sure, she doesn’t have the physical strength like in her youth, and age has made her a bit slow, but she doesn’t have to move furniture or anything like that. Just imagine what the world will be like when you’re 90… assuming our technology developes at the same rate as today, and our economy holds out… those guys just want you do consider partnership with them, for their selfish reasons (can’t blame them for that, not like I wouldn’t wat that either in their shoes)

    • s1ngal November 10, 2012 at 1:21 am #

      спасибо NicoLite.

  4. Frances antoinette November 11, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Do you what you want to do, never mind the opinions of others. If you do not want to be in a marriage right now, that’s okay…just cherish the relationships you do have — your friends and family.

    • s1ngal November 11, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

      Thank you, Frances! It’s been quite a while since I’ve shunned friends [2 exceptions!] and family 😦 I don’t know when I’ll come to sense, some day I may.

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

