Live Evil

6 Nov

This is my third attempt title to get out one post for the day and I”m really hoping to get this done – I mean get my post out for the day.

I haven’t been able to stop smoking. O yes, I’m still at it. Slowly, the number of cigarettes is going UP which is quite evil. Earlier, when I had quit smoking I had used procrastination as my weapon against it. I gave up thinking/ knowing I’d be smoking again. In the mornings when I badly wanted to smoke, I told myself I’ll smoke in the evening. In the evenings, I’d always convince myself to smoke tomorrow first thing in the morning. Trust me, it really worked but alas! that was then.

As for now, the procrastination’s gone the wrong way. Instead of postponing the smoking, I’m postponing quitting. 😦

I wake up every morning i.e. before noon at least and the first thought is – Cigarette! Smoke! Then I tell my evil self not to smoke and it listens to me. Brush my teeth – check. Take a shower – check. Prepare morning tea – check. Up until then, I’m good without cigarette. What happens next always disgusts me. I automatically reach out for a cigarette and there I am smoking.

Just while I was writing those lines above – about my morning – I have come up with a solution. Maybe I shouldn’t have any cigarettes around. Not even an emergency pack. This last sentence kind of reminded me of a joke, which goes like this:

Once, there was this guy who wanted to end his life. [I’m sorry if this is offensive, it’s just a joke.] He bumped into his friend.

Friend: Where are you going?

The guy: To the forest…

Friend: So… what’s with the rope?

The guy: I’m going to commit suicide.

Friend: OH! What’s with the flashlight?

The guy: Gotta be careful, there are poisonous snakes around… Duh!!!

Word source: s1ngal. Click here for —> IMAGE SOURCE

What was I thinking keeping an emergency cigarette pack? I’m sure as long as I have that pack, quitting’s not going to happen. In which case, once I finish this pack, I’m not going to get another emergency pack. I’m sure that way I’ll be able to ward off this evil that I’m living.

One day good will prevail over evil! Well, at least that’s what I’m hoping for :fingers crossed:

 

17 Responses to “Live Evil”

  1. vickodo November 6, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Someone once said: Quitting smoking is easy; I’ve done it dozens of times. 🙂

    Good luck.

    • s1ngal November 7, 2012 at 12:04 am #

      that’s a quitter’s line… and so be it 😉

  2. NicoLite Великий November 6, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    It’s also weird that some alcoholics have an emergency bottle of hooch around. Addicts are all too quick to classify a situation an emergency when that emergency hooch is in the fridge/freezer.

    • s1ngal November 7, 2012 at 12:06 am #

      Darn, I’m an addik :sigh:

      • NicoLite Великий November 7, 2012 at 12:09 am #

        while a nicotine addiction is acquired quicker, it is not as detrimental to the person’s body and environment as an alcohol addiction. Don’t let that comfort you into giving up getting rid of your smokes, it’s still pretty bad…

      • s1ngal November 7, 2012 at 12:10 am #

        do you ever like EVER sleep???

      • NicoLite Великий November 7, 2012 at 12:11 am #

        I’m a night guard, which means I sleep during the day

      • s1ngal November 7, 2012 at 12:28 am #

        Awww I see!!!

  3. Picture-Bandit November 6, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    You know where I stand on that issue… Smoke, drink and be marry for our vices is what makes us human.

    Nothing is more annoying than a non-smoker who can talk about nothing else how he quit smoking. Good for you! But no need to wear a billboard-size badge telling all.

    Are you also trying prescription medication? Because a cold-turky with cigarets is very very dificult.

    • s1ngal November 7, 2012 at 12:09 am #

      Thank you. This is what I’ve always wanted to hear 😀
      About cold-turkey, actually a GP friend recommended just that.

  4. Mustang.Koji November 9, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    I’m not going to tell you to quit. You will need to make that determination… Besides, quitting does NOT mean you will live forever. But it may help to define your own rules about this challenge, write down the stakes, and pick a goal line expressed by a day – two months, three months down the line. Try to stick with it. 🙂

    • s1ngal November 9, 2012 at 3:13 am #

      Just when I needed it, thank you so much Koji. Really appreciate it. I’m on it and maybe myself a month. 😀 Need to finish those emergency packSSS. xoxo

      • Mustang.Koji November 9, 2012 at 11:01 am #

        頑張りなさい。 :)

      • s1ngal November 9, 2012 at 11:08 am #

        浩二をありがとうございました。[is this “Thank You”? if not, that’s actually what I meant to write. Blame it on translating site if it’s wrong] 😉

      • Mustang.Koji November 9, 2012 at 11:25 am #

        You crack me up! I thought it would give you a touch of a distraction. 🙂 Yes, “thank you” is correct but no machine translator will get my name right (or most Japanese names for that matter). It is hard for ANY Japanese person to know how a name is written.

      • s1ngal November 9, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

        Trust me, I didn’t crack you up. IT WAS the GOOGLE-TRANSLATE.

        So, are the names like the thumbprints or what? Interesting!!

      • Mustang.Koji November 9, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

        Take “Koji”. Two syllables. But “Ko” and “Ji” – each “syllable” may have three to up to ten different “characters” that can be used. In my case, the characters are 光司, but there are many other character combinations that can be used.

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Determined Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

