My 2011’s favourite movie

3 Nov

The scene’s from Crazy Stupid Love, which happens to be my favourite scene – had it been at least a minute long. For me, this scene [a minute longer, not the one you’re seeing in the link above] is sarcasm at its best, the tension, the anxiety, the comedy……

I can’t remember all the other movies I watched last year – I mean with the number of movies I watch, it should be obvious actually. The only movie that stood out, which of course came as a surprise was Crazy Stupid Love. I don’t watch movies based on the IMDb ratings et al nor do I read the opening night reviews. I just watch movies – as simple as that.

However, many times, the cast and the crew may also attract me. With Ryan Gosling in it, Crazy Stupid Love thus became a much awaited movie. The first time I watched the movie, I was devastated. I was totally devastated because for me RyGos has been on a pedestal of method-acting [whether he’s one to do it or not].

Ryan Gosling: My first RyGos movie was Half-Nelson – I didn’t know The Notebook had been made into a movie until after Lars and the Real Girl. He actually had me at Half-Nelson and so I religiously began watching all of his movies. This was why I’d picked up “Crazy Stupid Love” 

First watch was disappointing. I didn’t know the movie was a comedy – it was only after I saw Steve Carell did I get a hint of the movie’s genre. I even double checked if I was watching a RyGos movie. I shook my head not knowing what to make of the movie – I couldn’t believe RyGos, of all the actors, had decided to lay himself cheap like that. UGHHHH.

However, on a second watch, I changed my opinion. He was brilliant. It was only because I was expecting some kind of Half-Nelson, Blue Valentine real girl seeking Lars that must have got me disappointed. On my third watch, he convinced me he was a better actor – a versatile actor. I’m happy I gave the movie the benefit of doubt because this movie has cracked me up during bad times, ever since.

Definitely THE one to watch out for

Besides, RyGos also happens to be one of the men I’ll forsake my singlehood for.  Ryan Gosling, in all honesty, is one of the best actors at present. With the likes of Johnny Depp almost catapulting into middle age, it leaves Ryan Gosling up for grabs. He’s got it all. He’s one helluva guy when it comes to acting and one helluva another guy when it comes to looks. He’s got it all, like HE’S GOT IT ALL. With Crazy Stupid Love, he’s proved his versatility. Besides, he’s also a musician – so maybe some day I’ll watch him in some musicals.

 

NB. I haven’t been paid to promote Ryan Gosling, not in cash or in kind. He’s just awesome and okay you’ve read it all. If I start ranting about him, well, maybe I won’t stop.

17 Responses to “My 2011’s favourite movie”

  1. NicoLite Великий November 3, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    hm, 6’1, I guess that’s an OK size for a man. I always check hollywood actors for their size, since their average seems to be 5’7

    • s1ngal.wordpress.com November 4, 2012 at 1:37 am #

      I always check out six-pack 😉

      • NicoLite Великий November 4, 2012 at 1:39 am #

        yeah well, why settle for a six-pack when you can have a keg?

      • s1ngal November 4, 2012 at 1:40 am #

        errr… emmmm…because i’m a teetotaler ?!?

      • NicoLite Великий November 4, 2012 at 1:44 am #

        It’s not about the beverage, but the amount 😉

      • s1ngal November 4, 2012 at 1:46 am #

        If Keg is what Jack Black has, then errr emmm again – no thank you. six pack’s just perfect. But then again I won’t mind Tom Hardy though…If that’s what a keg is 😉

      • NicoLite Великий November 4, 2012 at 1:49 am #

        Sure… I was just being a tease… I went from keg to six-pack to keg a few times, right now I’m back on my way towards the 6-pack… now that I have a job, I also have money for the gym again

      • s1ngal November 4, 2012 at 1:51 am #

        Gooz luck!!! Maybe soon enough then I’ll be featuring you instead of all the RyGos..

      • NicoLite Великий November 4, 2012 at 1:55 am #

        I could have a few pictures taken in my security guard uniform, if you like uniforms 😉

      • s1ngal November 4, 2012 at 1:56 am #

        ROFL… uniforms is good and so are unicorns

      • NicoLite Великий November 4, 2012 at 1:58 am #

        I don’t think me as a Unicorn would be appropriate 😉

      • s1ngal November 4, 2012 at 1:59 am #

        oh darn. and there I was hoping I’d get away [this one time] with a wishful thinking…

      • NicoLite Великий November 4, 2012 at 2:03 am #

        thy wish is my order… or so it would be if I dressed up as a Roman Slave

      • s1ngal November 4, 2012 at 2:40 am #

        Aye aye!!

  2. ardent and awkward in austin November 4, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Haven’t seen that movie, but I’ve heard things! 😉 Gosling has been in Austin filming and worked out at my sister’s gym. I die!!!!

  3. katlaire November 4, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    This movie cracked me up from the beginning! I really enjoyed this movie. It was just meant to be a light-hearted, funny piece of eye candy. Haha!

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Determined Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

