lO_Ok Closer: a Tube Story

31 Oct
I have my music for company – while travelling. I have a book for my eyes – while travelling. I have my day dreams for fun – while travelling. However, at times, I overlook all of these and look at the things I normally overlook. Thus comes my post for the day.

 

Look Closer: A Tube Story

They sit together on one of the 3-seaters. They sit apart – him by the window, her by the aisle. There is a distance between them but on a closer look, I find there isn’t any *distance* at all. They may be one of those couples with the tag *made in heaven* following them regardless of how or where they sat.

She smiles.

He is busy feeding numbers on his notebook and still looks up at her. [How did that happen? Could she have emailed him that smile?]

His look says, “What are you smiling at?”

She just smiles in response.

He raises his brow just a bit, sort of *What?* [unnoticeable, had I not been observing closely].

She smiles and widens her eyes trying to show him something – the boy can’t grasp.

He frowns.

She tips her head ever so lightly and once again opens her eyes wide.

He turns to his computer.

She looks at him.

He takes the notebook closer to her, points out few numbers.

She nods in agreement.

He smiles.

He looks at her and then to his hand – the hand that’s facing her.

She follows his gaze. She smiles and shakes her head. It is clear gesture – NO WAY.

He smiles at her and once again looks at his hand.

She smiles and turns away.

He reaches out for her bag which is the *distance* between them.

She grabs her bag and pulls it swiftly to her lap, closing it with both her hands. She smiles, he smiles.

He becomes serious, a frown that seems to say , “What am I to do with this, then?”

She smiles, looks at him and away as if to say, “Not my problem.”

He boy shrugs.

She stretches her hand and takes the banana peel off his hand.

They smile, they laugh and they look at each other.

He takes it off her.

She smiles.

He looks at her, scans her, looks her in the eye.

She sees it all and looks back at him but she doesn’t quite hold his look. She puts on her bold face and then puts her arm on the back of the seat as if to say “Doesn’t bother me.”

He looks at her and then shifts his gaze to her underarm.

She frowns at him and nods to say, “I know, I know.”

She pulls her arm back, feels her underarm as if to gauge the damage of overlooking the importance of regular grooming.

A true tubestory – a *maybe not so true* interpretation!!! 

2 Responses to “lO_Ok Closer: a Tube Story”

  1. NicoLite Великий October 31, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    If I lived as though I will drop dead in 10 seconds, I’d drop dead in 30

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

I Will Fight Site

I will fight for the word of God to be heard

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

