Why no Yay?!?

30 Oct

How single can I be? How single have I become? I have just begun wondering… And this is why!

A very VERY good friend told me she’s getting her wedding invitation cards designed “…the wedding card’s being designed the funky cute way…” She was all excited – over the phone. I was absolutely cold. My response, hence – “Count me out. Consider it an early RSVP.”

Imagine – a very VERY good sharing the excitement of her lifetime and how insanely sinister was my response.

V V good friend: But why?

s1ngal: Long story.

V V good friend: a short one, I’m sure you can do it…

s1ngal: Your relationship died *for me* a long time back. I can’t pretend to enjoy a funeral.

V V good friend: You can attend a funeral though, even if it’s to shed some tears for me… my relationship has revived….

s1ngal: kept the phone away for a while with a little *ahas* and *okays” in between.

Knowing my friend the invitation may look something like this. IMAGE SOURCE

Okay a little background to my friend’s relationship. Yes, she’s been going out with this guy for ages like EIGHT years. When she breaks up with the guy, he comes running to her – wailing and whining to be taken back. Then, one fine day, as if answering to my un-prayed prayers – HE broke up with her. I knew it was the end of it all. I almost rejoiced until I saw her crying. HUH! They’d drifted apart like…. like… ummm like… okay imagine the worst *drifting apart* scenario. That’s when she went running to HIM – wailing and whining. “Ewwwww” my exact emotion when she ran into his crossed arms [or whatever’s the opposite of “arms wide open”].

they’ve BEEN there and DONE all that. IMAGE SOURCE

Okay a little more background to my friend’s relationship. She’s been going out with this guy for ages like AGES which in time gave us all enough time to become friends. So the guy is apparently a friend too. In the past, they’ve been engaged 3 times and if I’m not wrong, the guy’s already given up on going down on his knees. So this time around, without all the nonsensical formalities [applicable only to these friends, mind you :)] of engaging, which they always tend to call off, they have decided to get hitched – in February.

I DON’T THINK I CAN!

Yes, I’m single but I’m a foolishly hopelessly romantic at heart. When this news of her getting married didn’t do anything to my heartbeat [like I had suddenly turned to stone], I was shocked. Have I become so single that I can’t even enjoy a very VERY good friend’s happy ending [of spinsterhood]? OR is it because it’s SHE and HE getting  married that didn’t stir up any emotions in my heart? I’m hoping it’s the latter.

I want to be single but I’d always want to be a foolishly hopelessly romantic at heart. Is it possible?

9 Responses to “Why no Yay?!?”

  1. Lori October 30, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    I wear black to weddings and bright colors to funerals. That’s my take on the whole single/not single thing. But I’m still a hopeless romantic at heart. 😉

    • s1ngal October 30, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      😀 This comment has made me feel very comfortable – I was almost on a guilt trip

      • Lori October 30, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

        No guilt trip….total comfort!

  2. JackieP October 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    More then likely it’s because you know it probably won’t work, the marriage.

    • s1ngal October 30, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      Hmmm, never gave that one thought. Thank you 🙂

  3. NicoLite Великий October 30, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    The latter. you’re not believeing it, because it’s them. I am familiar with that. Still, I think you should go, not to be witness to something beautiful, but to be a loyal friend

    • s1ngal October 30, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      Yeah, you’re right. Both of them have seen me through a lot of things so I guess you’re right. BUT… 😉

  4. Mustang.Koji October 30, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Tough question you pose to us… If she truly is your friend, you should consider sharing the day with her. But after swaying to and fro for so many years, it appears to me that its an all or nothing thing…

    • s1ngal October 31, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Much appreciated. Thank you Koji, you’re always so insightful. Never been gladder blogging 😀

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

