a Poet’s clog

23 Oct

A writer’s block is equal to A poet’s clog… says who – says s1ngal. Although, a poet is a writer too and hence it’s a-okay for em to have a writer’s block but I’d still want to come up with a similar phrase. Hence, the poet’s clog. Author’s gridlock! Screenwriter’s cork! Speaker’s choke! s1ngal’s broke! All right, I’ve run out of my phrasal creativity.

So now, why the poet’s clog and how. It’s been a while since I have wanted to write a poem on a metaphorical storm that seemed to be brewing out there. When I’m not typing on my keyboard, it seems easy to be writing this poetry in my mind. However, the moment I step up to actually WRITE it, it never gets done. NEVER! It’s a total clog!

Last Saturday, this metaphorical storm was supposed to hit us. We prepared for it, planned way ahead as to who would be responsible for what. We had our emergency kit  ready, our evacuation procedures in place and then we braced ourselves. We were ready for the storm to hit us – and us, we waited. It was quiet, kind of eerie quiet and I knew this was the calm before the storm.

the calm

The calm lasted a bit too long for us to realise there wasn’t going to be any storm. We were devastated. The storm never came. Despite knowing that it would have been a disaster had this metaphorical storm hit us, we still felt bad – like we were robbed/ deceived/ cheated.

Were we sad because the storm never came? Or… Were we sad because we had prepared so much for nothing? Had the wait been so agonizing that a brutal storm could have felt better? Is it the knowing that we never got to know what would have happened, that caused the pain? What devastated us more, we know not.

Did we want this?

Being human means being confused, it’s what we’re eternally condemned for, I guess.

The preparation, the wait, the calm, the eerie quiet, the unbearable stillness of (storm) brewing – all added up so much that my only way out was to write ONE poem. Which, too, like the storm, never happened. At the end of the day, like they say “one man’s poison is another man’s cure” and so it happened – the poetic poison became the blogging cure.

Some day, I may be able to pen a poem on the pain of the wait for nothing but for now, I’m happy I’ve got something to post.

5 Responses to “a Poet’s clog”

  1. Alastair October 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    It’s like when you are set to have an argument with someone and you have everything ready in your head as to what you are going to say. Then you speak to them and they start off by saying “I was wrong I apologise” Leaves you wanting that argument because you prepared for it.

    • s1ngal October 25, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      o wow! I so wasn’t prepared for this 😉

  2. dorothyadele October 23, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    I like the metaphor.

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

I Will Fight Site

I will fight for the word of God to be heard

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

