a Century Later

27 Sep

100 *published* posts later, I can say it wasn’t easy getting here. Few times I re-blogged just to keep the *posts* count going on some posts wishing I was the one who’d written them. Many, way too many times I have posted pictures ~ in the name of some challenge or the other [not to mention how thoroughly I’ve enjoyed doing this :)].

To get the post out everyday was a challenge and some days I just had to let go the *post a day* pressure. Those were the days when I wrote, wrote stuff that got saved in the *Drafts* but never got to see the light of the blogging day.

As I was going through what-do-I-write-about-today phase, I just happened to check my *Drafts* page and found something amusing. A little later I was asking myself… What was I thinking here? What was I trying to write then? Why did I stop *there*? Where was this headed?

With each draft, I’ll leave a comment just to let you [myself included] know what exactly I AM THINKING NOW.

Draft 1 [September 13, 2012]

Yes, I smoked yesterday and despite trying not to light the next cigarette, I’ve smoked around 7 cigarettes in 24 hours. Yesterday, I had all the excuses to smoke. I mean I was stressed/ frustrated/ exasperated/ lost/ confused/ cornered…. and so on and so forth.

  • Comment: I’m pretty sure there’s a post related to this OR Maybe this post actually saw the light of the *blogging* day.

Draft 2 [September 4, 2012]

TITLE: if you have a writer’s block

  • Comment: This post was blank beyond the title, no wonder 😉

Draft 3 [August 29, 2012]

Banging my head on the wall

Wishing and hoping for the bricks to fall

I am hurt as blood gushes out

I hold it back and cry out loud.

A knock on my bedroom door

Pandemonium on the second floor

I keep mum, hold my breath

  • Comment: I love this and I wish I could go back in time to finish/ publish this. I love the sound of this poem, it’s even rhyming. However, if this has been copied from somewhere else, apologies for I must’ve been totally stoned then :$

Draft 4 [August 27, 2012]

TITLE:to The Missus

I tell tales of anecdotes,

of the doting cats, lores of the yore.

They got me, too, but you got me first.

You had my back when I keeled,

just for you and head over heels.

And I had yours

Just as I swept you off your feet.

We’ve got the history then.

And now, you’re too big of a reason

for how I turned out the way I did

to ever stop loving you.

  • Comment: I remember this one VERY clearly. Anecdotal Tales at anecdotaltales.wordpress.com had commented on my post and I was so touched, I wanted to pen a poem dedicating it to them ~ it was a disaster. Anecdotal Tales, if you are reading this, please remember it’s the thought that counts :prays for a forgiveness miracle:

Draft 5 [August 25, 2012]

TITLE: Single at Heart, Double Elsewhere

Misfortune never comes alone, it comes in doubles I guess. Except for my single-hood, there’s nothing “single” [to be read as one] about me. I have two parents to begin with, I mean my mom and dad. My parents have two children, my brother and I.

Today, while I was listening to a romantic song, I realised how “single-at-heart” I am.

  • Comment: One day, I’ll finish this one. I can still feel this. I remember exactly how I had felt then, so this post WILL be published ~ sooner or later.

Draft 6 [August 24, 2012]

TITLE: a technically-challenged SPEAKS

  • Comment: Blank! Maybe I might have started “speaking” just then and so it never got written. Can’t remember the genesis, nemesis or the finishes.

Draft 7 [August 21, 2012]

TITLE: Single’s Guide to Staying Single

  • If you want to stay single by choice, you must be absolutely as insane as me.
  • If you want to stay single because someone’s ditched/ dumped/ cheated on/ betrayed you, then I’m sorry for you but being single may not suit you.
  • If you want to stay single thinking it’s cool, then hell you’re right… and I’ll show you how.

First and foremost, you must think it’s cool to stay single. It is cool and cold. You become the “cold one”, not as cold as the Cullen Family I guess. I mean people will consider you cold and you must convince yourself that cold means cool. By now if you’re not convinced about the cool, skip it all

  • Comment: Will finish this someday [at least for the sake of all the wannabe singles out there :D]

And many more. Just got tired of *copy* and *paste* routine. Oh, if you didn’t know already I am sooooooooooooo darn good until I switch to lazy mode.

  • Do you have drafts saved?
  • OR Could I be the only one?
  • In which case, have I suddenly alienated myself by bringing out my skeletons?

NB. Do not judge me because errr well in another case, I may be saving *drafts* for a rainy day.

18 Responses to “a Century Later”

  1. Mustang.Koji September 27, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    You are hilarious, s1ngal! Made my day with this post. 🙂

    • s1ngal September 27, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Thank you. I’m glad you liked it 😀

  2. rommel September 27, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    COOL post! Draft 2 is hilarious. And I beg of you, for your blog’s good, finish Draft 3! Wait, I’ma do it with conviction… FINISH DRAFT 3! 😀

    • s1ngal September 27, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      Thank you [as if there wasn’t enough pressure already :sighs:]

      • rommel September 27, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

        Just saying how good the start is. Take your time, it will come to yah. Better natural than forced. 😉

      • s1ngal September 27, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

        if only i can remember what/ how I was feeling then, finishing naturally would happen. well i’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  3. NicoLite Великий September 27, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I know myself well enough that I don’t finish drafts. I need to get through with the writing spurt or not do anything at all, and lazy as I may be, I rather just get something out hoping I find all the type-o’s when I read through it before I press the publish button

    • s1ngal September 27, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      I think that’s how one becomes a writer [YOU] and this is how one doesn’t become a writer [ME :(]

      • NicoLite Великий September 28, 2012 at 1:42 am #

        I wouldn’t be so pessimistic about that… unless you don’t want to become a writer… I know a person who finishes all kinds of stuff they started ages ago, mostly because they start something, go on to something completely different, and before they know it, they have hundreds of unfinished projects. Eventually, or should I say, inevitably, they see an unfinished project, get the inspiration that lead them to abandon it in the first place, and finish it. The person I am talking about completely lacks focus, but is an astonishing artist

  4. Edward Hotspur September 27, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    I wish I could make one post a day. Seriously. I post more like 2-3 posts a day. I have drafts, but usually no more than a day. I have one draft post that I use to save things in – not necessarily posts, but like people’s phone numbers or notes to myself or a list of ideas or a quarter of a long story.

    • s1ngal September 27, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      LOL and it’s OK [duh] Misterrr Hotspurrrr to have 2-3 posts a day [it’s like my how-i-wish wish while i am unable to churn out even ONE a day] 😀

  5. anecdotaltales September 28, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Where there is no error committed, there is no forgiveness needed. 😉 Nice little poem you almost-wrote. Heh. I just called The Missus yesterday.

    • s1ngal September 28, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      You’re so kind AnecdotalTales. Thank you!!!

      • anecdotaltales September 28, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

        No, -you’re- so spiffy. Take that!

      • s1ngal September 29, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

        What’s “spiffy”, kind AcecdotalTales?

      • anecdotaltales October 1, 2012 at 9:40 am #

        Spiffy. Keen. It’s technically used in regards to dress, but I tend to apply to a person in general. Being neat and sharp.

  6. Scarlet Wilde October 1, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Well done you – always readable, always real and always entertaining! x

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Determined Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

