not A Book Review

25 Sep

It’s not a book review, I suck at it.

FACT: I love reading books, however, chasing the bestsellers isn’t/ has never been my cup of tea. The only exception here is the “Twilight” saga. I don’t know what happened to me then but I just followed the mass and eventually fell for RPatt and Taylor Lautner. Otherwise, I wait for the books to find me, I guess.

FACT: I may or may not read the latest books in the market. I pick up random books at random times.

That’s how and when I bumped into this book “We Need to Talk About Kevin” by Lionel Shriver. It was lying with my friend and I borrowed it from her. Once I began reading this, I got bowled over by the wit et al.

Presenting THE FIVE LINES that blew me over/ under/ through/ around… you name it. These are lines that we often hear of… and know of… the sheer truth of these lines… 

  • I am vain, or once was, and one of my vanities was to feign that I was not.
  • How lucky we are, when we’re spared what we think we want.
  • People seem able to get used to anything, and it is a short step from adaptation to attachment
  • There’s something dodgy about any assertion one feels obliged to make twice.
  • I was reluctant to ask you outright and so risk spoiling the illusion. 

That’s all. Told you it’s not a book review. However, if you’ve read the book and if you have a review, I’d gladly go through them.

7 Responses to “not A Book Review”

  1. NicoLite Великий September 25, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    I myself am NOT a fan of the twilight series (went to the movies with my gf back when I had her… so maybe I’m just a hypocrite in that respect). I am also no good at book reviews, since I get lost in the worlds of the books I like. The five lines you wrote down sound pretty good to me, though 🙂

    • s1ngal September 25, 2012 at 2:53 am #

      agreed. yea.. they’re just ordinary things extraordinarily written.

  2. mv71 September 25, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    found myself reading those five lines over and over…thanks for posting

    • s1ngal September 25, 2012 at 7:46 am #

      thank you. they are quite the lines!!!

  3. anecdotaltales September 28, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    I’m reading Tale of Two Cities (Dickens- a great writer, but not a brief one) and every other page or so there’s a line that makes me think, “I should write that down!” Happily, the book’s been around for long enough that someone else has already copied those quotes down for me. 😉

    • s1ngal September 29, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

      wasn’t me!?! :winks back:

  4. Life and all things love October 12, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    I’ll admit it…I loved the Twilight series! Go Team Edward! Heh! Heh!

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

