oN a dAY liKE tHIS

12 Aug

on a [SAD] day like this

On a day like this, when I wake up I want to go right back to sleep. There was a time when I looked forward to Sundays so much that I couldn’t even sleep the previous night. Sleeplessness is still there but the reason has changed from anticipation to anxiety.

On a day like this, I look out for a greener pasture. Maybe, if I weren’t *single*…..

 

On a day like this, I remember one of my buddies who got married at 17. We all, i.e. her friends, knew it was a disaster. We were wrong. She was married to a gem of a person. 5 years later, she thought we were actually right. It came as a BIG shock for us, the friends. At 23 she filed for a divorce. As soon as the divorce got through – practically on the same day – she got married again. She didn’t live a single life even for a day. Apparently she could no longer be happy with a Gem of a person, she moved to metal – a platinum of a person. We all, i.e. her friends, didn’t know what it was. We were in a shock and aftershock simultaneously.

 
She confessed to us, the friends, how much she loved Platinum and how real it was. We, the friends, agreed later when we realised how happy she was with Platinum. My friend in context is more like “Mary” from “There’s Something About Mary” [She attracts men like flies]. She confessed [more discreetly this time] to me, the friend, about getting into the second marriage way too quick. I resisted the urge to say “I told you so.”

 

 

On a day like this, I remember her second confession. Her second confession had a hint of  “If only I were single….” but obviously nowhere did it mean “I’m sad I’m married”.

On a day like this, I know no matter what we are, where we are, who we are, we do linger on the “What ifs….”. Not only because we are sad but also because the grass may always look greener on the other side.

 

Image Source:

http://s63.photobucket.com/albums/h127/kmlander247/?action=view¤t=sad-sad-kitty.jpg&newest=1

 http://www.kinoshot.ru/film/melodrama/page/5/

http://www.demotivation.us/the-grass-is-always-greener-1258824.html

7 Responses to “oN a dAY liKE tHIS”

  1. the_lunatic August 12, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    So friggin’ true how the grass does always seem greener … although choosing to stop dating and truly figure out who I am without the influence of another person has been the best thing I could have ever done. Whether they are happy or not, I always did sort of pity the people who went straight from one relationship to another.
    Another great post 🙂

    • s1ngal August 12, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      Aww. thanks a lot. Great post eh!! must be the influence xoxo

  2. anecdotaltales August 13, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Sundays in particular are my day to shut ou the world. I get up when I want, do what I want, and make no plans. I may envy couples other days of the week, but never Sundays. (It’s too much work to be friendly -every- day.) 😉

    • s1ngal August 13, 2012 at 11:43 am #

      NO plans to write even…? 😦

      • anecdotaltales August 13, 2012 at 11:44 am #

        I may jot down a few notes, but I write Monday-Saturday. However I will admit to cracking open the laptop at 12:02 a.m. Monday morning.

      • s1ngal August 13, 2012 at 11:45 am #

        awww… i mean wow! good to know that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On a Day Like This [an unanticipated sequel] « s1ngal - August 13, 2012

    […] mean who’d have thought I’d be waking up to an award after a day like /on-a-day-like-this/ By the way before my morning green-tea coffee [coffee sounds better], I wordpress – I know […]

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

I Will Fight Site

I will fight for the word of God to be heard

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

