5 Motivational Books

12 Aug

I’m not much of a motivational book reader. I hardly/ barely read even non-fiction. Don’t ask me why because not all questions have answers [duh] OR maybe because I’m the kind of a person who’d want to learn from one’s own mistake AND also because I’d never sell a Ferrari to become a monk. Who knows? And like I said earlier, not all questions need to be answered.

…Which means I have read very… [let me emphasise] very limited books of this genre and they can all be featured right here. Presenting you my all-time fabulous 5 motivational/ self-improvement books [the only ones I’ve read].

Number One:

Life’s Little Instruction Book: By H Jackson Brown Jr.  This was my first peek at the non-fiction books. This edition has 511 suggestions for a son who’s leaving for college. Simple doable suggestion like  “Watch the sunrise”… who wouldn’t/ can’t do it??? A little confession – I loved this book so much that I wanted to have my own copy [mind you, it was in another century]. The store in my neighbourhood had run out of it so I wrote it all down in a scrapbook look-alike, which took me months to finish and around 5 renewals at the library [I was only a kid and I’m talking about another century].

Number Two:

The next book I read and loved much, in this genre, is —–> Who Moved My Cheese? By Dr. Spencer Johnson. I was very skeptical before I started reading this one here. I ONLY read fiction and my friend kinda tricked me into reading this and I loved it. So simply written and yet it runs deep, yes it does. Pretty witty as well, I mean who would have thought mice could outsmart human beings… I thought only ants and the bees did until then and the pigs and the dolphins and…..

Number Three:

I tried reading “How to become a Millionnaire” when I was 10. This was the turning point of my life because it was then that I vouched never to touch a non-fiction how-to self-improvement books ever. But 2 down, I grabbed a copy of Rich Dad Poor Dad: By Robert Kiyosaki and I’ll say “…the rest is history” once I become a millionaire [for real]. However, when it comes to finance/ saving/ making money ~ easier read than done ~ has always been the case. Anywhoa, I  liked reading it – found it interesting even.

Number Four:

The Last Lecture: By Randy Pausch. Alright, alright. I read “Tuesdays with Morrie” by Mitch Albom, too, but I prefer Randy Pausch’s. I think I was going through a morbid-read phase and so I stumbled into these two books one after the other. I found this one more meaningful [no disrespect whatsoever to M/s. Morrie and Albom], more real and more I-can-relate-to-this touching sort, so to speak.

…and lastly Number Five:

The Oxford Dictionary: What? It’s not a motivational book… it doesn’t belong to this genre… Says who? IT’S MY LIST :annoyed: Well I grew up with this book and it’s motivated me  in ways non other books have. Although, there was another book [kinda coffee-table book for children] called “The Children’s Book” which had pigs and all kind of animals wearing dresses/ cooking et al. It had motivated me too but not as much as and as long as my Dictionary. Hence, the Dictionary gets the picture and “The Children’s Book” gets the honourable mention.

At the end of the day, there are chances that you may or may not have heard about the books from one to four. So there are chances my list may get a nod or if not bing.com will be busy seeking them. All said and done, Number Five is omnipotent [compared to the rest 4] and thus justifies it being in this list. NO MORE ARGUMENTS, please 😉 😀

And that brings another post for my category MY 5.

3 Responses to “5 Motivational Books”

  1. the_lunatic August 12, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award 🙂 You can find it here:
    http://thoughtsofalunatic.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/better-than-cheesecake-the-reader-appreciation-award/

  2. Frances antoinette August 13, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    “The Last Lecture” is an excellent book!

    • s1ngal August 13, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      I cried rivers and at the same time i was so ready to go out there and live my childhood dreams… I’m thinking of taking up a flying lesson yeeeeeeehaaaaaaa

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

