Phive Phantastic Poems

8 Aug

EFFECTS OF POEMS in my life:

I’m not much of a ” poem” person but there are some poems which have stuck with me through thick and thin. Some I had to study as part of lessons in school/ college, some I stumbled upon randomly. When I talk to people, I refer to these poems often (very very often) and so it gives them an impression that I AM A POEM PERSON. However, if the same people were to listen to me time and again, they’d soon realise that I don’t have the 6th poem to refer to šŸ˜€ and frankly speaking there is no need either.

And here I am with the 5 repeatedly referred to poems. Believe me, if you know these 5 then you too can live I-am-a-poem-person life *happily ever after* I’ve done it so far….

1. He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven by W B Yeats

I must’ve come across this poem during my adolescence. Those were the days I dreamed with eyes wide open and the last line of this poem caught my wide-opened eyes. For me this is a poem of “wish” and “wishful-thinking” and I refer to it for all the wish-talks. šŸ™‚

2. If You Forget Me by Pablo Neruda

There was a phase when I was in love with everything South American. I woke up wishing I were a South American. I was smitten. Well the one thing I am absolutely proud of about this obsession was my encounter with Pablo Neruda. I love all his poems and I’m *publishing* this one because I really wish I had written it. I wish I could understand Spanish so as to be able to read his poems in their original language.

3. The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

I had posted this poem here earlier. This is my much much referred to Poem of all times. Many daredevils or eccentric people who’re inclined to English Literature must’ve been doing the same. It’s one of the most inspiring poems ever (for me – the most super-eccentric being ever to have stepped on the road not taken).

4. Much Madness is Divinest Sense by Emily Dickinson

I had to study Emily Dickinson along with other poets and of the many amazing poems of hers, this one’s stuck to me. This is my sort of biggest defence against my unique sense.Ā  I have been able to preserve my silly-sensible-self and even be proud of it, thanks to this poem by Ms. Dickinson.

5. The Unknown Citizen by W H Auden

Sometimes I take a step back from my nonsensical life and I remind myself of this poem and how true it rings every passing day. This poem does scare me and it nudges me lightly (and always without any impact). Because at the end of the day I am an unknown citizen, which is when I start wishing otherwise and that’s when the poem on top comes handy šŸ˜€

The sources of the poems are linked in the title. I’ve bing’d them from different sites as it became quite a daunting task to type them all here. I hope you’ll enjoy the poems and knowing these poems you’ll know me a little better. These poems have left a deep impression in me and my life and thus, to a certain extent, define who I am.

15 Responses to “Phive Phantastic Poems”

  1. ardent and awkward in austin August 8, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I love Pablo Neruda. Recently, I read a book, The Dreamer by Pam Munoz Ryan & Peter Sis, a part biography/part literary fiction book about his life as a child. It is infused with some of his poetry and beautiful illustrations. It’s actually geared towards a younger demographic (I bought it for my middle school students), but I really enjoyed it. You should check it out!

    • s1ngal August 8, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Thank u, thank u very much!! Will do my best to get hold of the book xx

  2. katlaire August 8, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Try “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” by T.S. Eliot. That is my favorite poem.

    • s1ngal August 8, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      Thank u, will do so or rather doing so šŸ™‚ xx

      • katlaire August 8, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

        It’s relatively long! Haha!

      • s1ngal August 8, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

        & i realised it a little too late. I miss my professor šŸ˜‰

  3. The Smile Scavenger August 8, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Wonderful selections! I’m not sure why I missed that Yeats poem (though I’ve often heard the last line quoted). My favorite Frost poem is the typical choice (Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening). My favorite Dickinson is “Not in Vain”, which is a bit of an oddball poem for her, in my opinion — highly recommend reading that one.

    My all time favorites are “We Real Cool”, anything by Thoreau, “Dover Beach”, and “Letter Beginning with the First Line of Your Letter” by Stephen Dobyns.

    The latter of those is EXTREMELY difficult to locate online, so if you’d like to read it, it’s pasted below (and I apologize for how long this comment is going to be due to that – feel free to edit and delete this last bit if you would like to):

    Letter Beginning with the First Line of Your Letter

    Here the weather remains the same. Constant
    summer sun. When was the sky anything but blue?
    In the harbor park, boys on bikes plague lovers
    and the pink-eyed dogs of the elderly.
    Across the water, freighters take on cargo.
    I stand on the shore, envying each destination.
    Because you are not here, I think of you
    everywhere; wherever they are going
    they must be going to you. We were like
    fat people in old cartoons who could
    barely kiss for all their mortal baggage;
    like holiday travelers who have missed their trains,
    are stranded in a European station surrounded by
    wicker baskets, belted trunks. We had such baggage.
    It increased and became such a mountain that we
    lost each other behind it, until our voices
    grew distant and we returned to writing letters.
    Whose baggage, whose mistakes, who cares now?
    Listen, I am thirty-six, I have lived in
    many cities and within me it is raining.
    The deliberate ocean repeats and repeats.
    Empty lifeguard stands, paper cups and
    plastic spoons, the folded green cabanas–
    all mark the deserted beaches of the heart.
    Water drips from colored pennants, glistens
    on the black taxis on the esplanade.
    In the empty ballroom of a beach hotel, someone
    is practicing the piano. In sitting rooms and parlors,
    guests turn the pages of their magazines, look at
    rain on windowpanes, look at watches, look at
    the closed door of a dining room from which they hear
    the rattle of dishes and silver, of tables being set.
    Listen, from such a place I am writing you a letter.
    Again and again, I try to put down a few words.
    As day and sky dissolve in sheets of gray,
    the sea repeats your name to the desireless sand.

    • s1ngal August 8, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      How can I say thank you more? if i knew i’d use it here and now. beautiful poem & thank g’ness you pasted it here. lovely lovely… really appreciate it…

      now going to check the others… without doubt, i’ll love them all. thx once again xx

      • The Smile Scavenger August 8, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

        Aww you’re so welcome! šŸ™‚ Glad you liked it.

    • s1ngal August 8, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      also “Not in vain” is my other fav Dickinson poem. she’s great, isn’t she??? it’s just that “much madness…” gives me strength [so to speak] in kinda being myself šŸ˜‰

      • The Smile Scavenger August 8, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

        I can totally understand that. She is something, alright! It’s funny, I always talk about writers as though they’re still alive… perhaps because their work is an immortal extension of themselves. Oh, goodness. Did you read that? When I start talking like that, I’ve been looking at poetry too long. šŸ˜‰

    • s1ngal August 8, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      “we are cool” is great hehehhee.

      I was forced to study Thoreau’s Dover Beach so never quite enjoyed it… šŸ˜¦ But now that I don’t have to write about it in exams, suddenly starting to like it heheheh

  4. Frances antoinette August 9, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Pablo Neruda’s poems are my favorite!

    • s1ngal August 9, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      He’s very inspiring. Thank you for your comment and *Like*, appreciate it.

  5. Andrew A. Sailer August 19, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Great site…I bookmarked it and will return often….

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Stories & News

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings ā€” Musings ā€” Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

