a s1ngle g1rl’s dream

2 Aug

 So what does a s1ngle g1rl dream about??? I mean this dream —–>

[dreem] noun 1. a succession of images, thoughts,
or emotions passing through the mind during sleep
And not in terms of aspiration or the kind Martin Luther King Jr. had[I have a dream]. Although I do have such kind of dreams, too, but right now I dream (aim) to write about the sleep-induced dream. I dream dreams – vivid and unrealistically real dreams. Maybe that’s the reason why I have a lot of deja-vu or deja-non-vu (deja-dream) moments.
Last night I saw many dreams, one after the other, and quite unconnected. So I can’t remember any one of them, it was like a montage – a rather beautiful one. Anyway, the nights I dream always give me sort of an-unbearable-lightness-of-being sensation. I wake up happier when I have dreamed than the times I haven’t and so when I don’t dream, I have this something-missing-and-not-quite-right feeling. I can’t explain this phenomenon at all. All I can vouch for, at this moment, is that I love dreaming in my sleep. For me they are a way to know that I’m all right.
Once I remember my friend and I were on the train back home. She got off the train because she had to make a detour and she asked me to accompany her to the exit.
Me:   I can’t, the train doesn’t stop here that long.
She:  You can make it in time, I know.
[She was annoyingly persistent so I gave in].
As we started walking towards the exit, I saw my train leaving. She was absolutely “nonchalant” (I wish I had a worse word than this but they aren’t appropriate :p) and there I was panicking (cursing her inside). She knew it as much as I did that the very same day I had to catch a bus in less than 2 hours’ time. I was sure I was going to miss it. [Sadness/ irritated/ annoyed/ frustrated]
I kept all my negative feelings to myself and started walking with her, out of the station. Still silently contemplating a way to catch the bus. Voila! All I had to do was make a call to the bus-people and ask them to wait a wee-bit if I run late (I don’t have to tell them the truth about ACTUALLY being late). I called them but the call didn’t go through because I didn’t have enough credit [my frustration blended with panic is beginning to eat me alive]. I asked my friend for her phone after explaining my plan. She, still nonchalant (I’d never seen her this nonchalant, I swear), looks at me and looks away. To my horror, she dials a number and starts yakking.
“Is this happening to me? Let this be a dream. I don’t want to hate my friend. She isn’t bad. She has never been this way” I prayed. I prayed for this whole thing to be nothing but a dream. I pinched myself and I looked at the shoulder-bag and felt the tug as it was slightly heavy.
“What the hell am I thinking of? How can this be a dream? I am walking with her, there she is. She is talking on the phone. She knows I am going to miss the bus? When did she become so obnoxiously insensitive?”
I broke down. The world began turning into a blur but I didn’t want her to see me crying. I decided to cut off all ties with her but it was killing me to think that way. It would have been much easier if it were all a dream. Whenever life gets a bit too overwhelming [read helpless/ paralyzed], like the moment then, I want it to be a dream. I want to wake up to a world where everything is just the way it should be.There I was, still praying —> “I wish it were a dream. God, please tell me this is a dream” and a dream it was.I woke up.
I’ll never forget this dream, ever. This is my FAVOURITE dream, the FAVOURITEST dream 😀
I don’t know how many of you feel the way I do. When real life becomes unbearable and too-bad-to-be-true, all I do is sit in a corner and pray it to be a dream and to wake up the next morning. Never had it happened except for the time (mentioned above). That morning I wanted to curl up with my pillow and cry… I don’t know why I felt that way but it was beautiful to feel that way. I don’t want to interpret or try to understand the meaning of my dreams as long as I dream. I love the way they come and surprise me. Here’s hoping there are many more dreams… coming… my way…
  • Do you dream often?
  • What do you mostly dream about?
  • Do you have a favourite dream?
  • Do your dreams affect you the way they do to me?
  • Do dreams make you inexplicably happy?

I’d love to know!!

One Response to “a s1ngle g1rl’s dream”

  1. the_lunatic August 3, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    – Do you dream often? every night
    – What do you mostly dream about? all sorts of things, but there is a constant (every night) theme of getting away from something/someone that threatens my life ..
    – Do you have a favourite dream? the sexy ones 😉
    – Do your dreams affect you the way they do to me? they can, yeah ..
    – Do dreams make you inexplicably happy? sometimes … i am more entertained than anything

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

I Will Fight Site

I will fight for the word of God to be heard

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

