rain OR shine

1 Aug

… a slow start… a slower day… I’m looking outside and it’s all white… it’s not winter but it’s slightly chilly, maybe because it’s drizzling… the world around me is engulfed in white and the white is slowly rising, like the curtain raising for a much-awaited show, in clusters of cottony mist… listening to Adele’s “daydreamer” and trying to write something…

I am a water-person (not only because I drink a lot of water). I love the oceans, rivers, lakes, ponds, lagoons, waterfalls, streams, brooks and all forms of water-bodies except the puddles. However, I love the rain – be it drizzling or pouring cats and dogs – the only forms of water that I may not be interested in are puddles and Tsunami and its likes.

My dream-house has always had to be either by a lake/river/waterfall…. but then again I don’t mind trading it for a mansion with ocean-view or like the house-in-stilts from the movie “the Lake house”. I have never imagined a dream-house without water around it in any way. I’d love to go to Maldives, some day.

Some of my unforgettable waterfront memories:

  • Once a friend asked me to pick a place for her civil wedding and when the limited number of intimate friends gathered, they all gave me knowing looks – it was by a beautiful creek.
  • On one chilly new year’s morning, I called my friends to accompany me (if not meet me there) by this lagoon. It was almost freezing and we were thoughtfully covered in our down-jackets. Two of my friends started fishing and to my pleasant-surprise, the fishing activity invited a lot of ripples (and luckily NO fish). I was grinning ear to ear until I saw a grumpy (not-a-morning-person-at-all) friend sitting next to me, pulling up his jacket every passing second, giving me what’s-there-to-smile-about-in-this-freezing-morning look.
  • A friend had bought an SUV and who happened to know how much I love them. He called me and surprised me with the news. It was way past midnight (he used to work late shifts) and he was on his way home. I told him we could go for a ride. Knowing my undying love for SUV’s he came to pick me up. We went to…. a beach. I think it was past 2 am and I’ll never forget how our shadows reflected on the waves. It was beautiful.
  • I fell in love with my ex after I saw his apartment. Well not quite like that, it was actually after I saw the view of a beautiful lagoon from his apartment. I may forget my ex, but I won’t forget the view. I myself am not a morning person but I used to get up early (like before 6) to enjoy the sunrise by the lake. We broke up after he shifted to a new place. No, no, no… the break-up had nothing to do with him moving. It’s just that I don’t believe in a long-distance relationship and on top of that I need to be single forever.

my collage – can’t stop clicking when i see the water (any forms)

I am fortunate to live by a lake, at present. The house isn’t on stilts 😦 and I don’t have a mail-box but the sad part about living here is – it looks like I’ve started taking my fortune for granted because I have missed the sunrise for a long long time now. [Note to MEself: wake up early tomorrow, take a pic and maybe blog about it]. But that’s another perk of being single and working for “peanuts” – I am at my OWN disposal. So if I do get up early tomorrow, it’s because I WANT TO not because i have to….

M loving it ———–> http://macdonaldsbestellen.webklik.nl/page/

11 Responses to “rain OR shine”

  1. judysp August 1, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    I am a water person too.You have an awsome blog. I am a follower now.
    Thank you so much for following my blog judysp.wordpress.com
    Happy Blogging
    cheers Judy 🙂

    • s1ngal August 1, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      Is this really happening to me?? :pinch:

      :owwww: it IS happening… 😀

      Thank u, thank u, thank u heaps and a little more!!!

      • judysp August 1, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

        Yep it’s happening 🙂

  2. Onely August 1, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    I hope one day you get your house on stilts. Now I want to go to the Maldives… 🙂

    • s1ngal August 2, 2012 at 2:43 am #

      thank you so much Onely…. and maybe we might bump into each other in Maldives 😉

  3. anecdotaltales August 4, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    So really, you need a Frank Lloyd Wright house.

    http://www.wright-house.com/frank-lloyd-wright/fallingwater.html

    😉

    • s1ngal August 4, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      would you believe if i tell you i’m working [read blogging] on it??? thanks anywhoa

      • anecdotaltales August 4, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

        As you should be. Frank Lloyd Wright is all kinds of delightful.

      • s1ngal August 4, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

        so are cats 🙂

      • anecdotaltales August 4, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

        Agreed and agreed.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea | s1ngal - August 30, 2013

    […] Do I feel more peaceful around water??? I’d like to respond with my earlier post here . […]

Leave a Reply

A.M.Bradley

The Forgotten Writer

Your Nibbled News - 2017 YNN

An affable, friendly website with its readers' interests always in mind.

Duke University Press News

What's New at Duke University Press

Postcard from a Pigeon

Musings by Dermott Hayes, a writer

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

My message to me

- and anyone else who may be listening

Timeandreflections

"We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect"

Unlearning

Confessions of a Scholar Mom

Covert Novelist

Light Hearted Mysteries

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Designer Sophisticate

Ramblings — Musings — Cynical conversation

Sunken Thought

Just lost brainwaves

dueyvan

I am me. Not who I was. Not what has happened.

The Hope Filled Addict

I'm Restless No More

Creating Kings

A young person's attempt to help others in attaining personal Sovereignty in a Tyrannical World.....

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

I Will Fight Site

I will fight for the word of God to be heard

Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman!

Descriptive writing on love, life, landscape, laughter and lodges!

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

