my DNA analysis

3 Oct

My contribution to this week’s writing challenge is a poem.

My DNA Analysis

Who am I

or what am I

is the question.

To be who I am

or to be what I am

is the question, too.

A mother’s daughter

without much resemblance

but for a smile.

A father’s daughter

without much perseverance

but for an idea.

Pragmatic mom

Idealistic dad

In between, I remain

in a limbo, akimbo.

You look like your dad, they say

Aye, you sound like your mom

Listen to her, will you? say they.

Aargh! I say

Leave me alone, I say

Let me be me, I say

No hearsay, this is who I say

Or is it what I say.

Who am I? Why am I?

How am I?

When am I?

A little bit of him

and his shared bits of them

And the rest – of her

and her share of theirs

A little bit of something

some bits of nothing

And nothing much of everything.

I am nothing without them -

my parents

Or am I

Or am I nothing because

of them.

This is who I am.

what I am.

5 Responses to “my DNA analysis”

  1. Heidi, The Happy Master Engageneer October 3, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

    Reblogged this on Social Media Butterfly.

  2. anecdotaltales October 4, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    But do you like Green Eggs and Ham?

    • s1ngal October 4, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Whoops, but I love green ham and eggs…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For the Love of Literature | Ramisa the Authoress - October 4, 2013

    […] my DNA analysis | s1ngal […]

  2. Weekly Writing Challenge – DNA Analysis | Joe's Musings - October 4, 2013

    […] my DNA analysis | s1ngal […]

Leave a Reply

Reflections Of Realities

"Life is not a problem to be solved, but a reality to be experienced."

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

The Memoir Network

Resources to Help You to Write (and Finish!) Your Memoir

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Joe's Musings

"You become what you think" - Ralph Waldo Emerson. I think I am a writer, do you agree?

Chronicles of Illusions

When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be. – Lao Tzu

The thought that escaped

When my mind wanders this is the result

Shifting Focus

..fleeting moments through time

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

The Retiring Sort

Exploring all aspects of retirement

Maria Precioso

Travel Blurbs and Snapshots

Simple & Interesting.

amazing places,quotes,music and more.

Dysfunctional Literacy

Humor for the frustrated reader and writer

idiot-prufs

Read by four out five drunken monkeys--written by the fifth.

Isaacs Picture Conclusions

An Honest Review from an Honest (and Gassy) Guy (who doesn't take things too seriously)

Head In A Vice

Movie reviews - because everyone is entitled to my opinion

All that I am, all that I ever was...

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

